Nice weather for gardening

The last few weeks have mostly been on the dry side with quick a but of sun, however the easterly sea breeze has tended to keep the heat down.  I’ve had to do some watering to encourage a few plants that prefer bog type conditions such as the variegated iris and Himalayan primulas which are shooting at the moment around the edges of my mini-pond.

Being the 3rd week in April the gooseberry sawfly larvae were in action, they are consistent with their timing I’ll say that for them.    Maybe I should look into nematodes and see if I can break their cycle so I don’t end up with green fingers having to squash them every evening during the forthcoming 2 waves.

Tulip Prinzes Irene

The tulips are in the final stage of their flowering season this week I thought I would show the progression of Tulip ‘Daydream’ from yellow to orange.

Tulip ‘Daydream’
Tulip ‘Daydream’
Tulip ‘Daydream’
Tulip ‘Daydream’

Since daylight is stretching out into evenings I went for  cycle around the Phoenix Park to get some exercise in due to the lockdown and I noted a wonderful scent passing by certain parts of the roadway so following my nose it led me to tale a picture of this plant for later identification which is Smyrnium olusatrum, its common names being Black Lovage or Alexanders.   Interestingly the deer don’t seem to touch it.

Smyrnium olusatrum (Black Lovage or Alexanders)

In bloom this week

  • Tulips (various)
  • Spanish bluebells
  • Aubretia
  • Common blue violet
  • Daffodils
  • Primroses
  • Wallflowers
  • Honesty (Lunaria annua)
  • Sweet cicely
  • Dutch iris
  • Aurinia Saxatilis
  • Apple blossom

To do list

  • Get petrol for the mower.

 

About Mewswithaview

Maybe I won't :)
This entry was posted in Flowers, General maintenance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.